3
\$\begingroup\$

When I read the 4e book cover to cover, I got the impression that at level 0 you got d4 hp + stamina modifier and then at level 1 you got your class die of hp but no stamina modifier (at level 2 you'd get it as usual).

My GM challenged this and on relook through I couldn't find what I thought I originally read. However, all the examples I found also do not specifically say you do/don't get it so I think I just put 2+2 together myself (maybe wrongly). It states clearly at level 0 you get stamina then at level 1 you get class die but doesn't specifically say you get stamina at level 1 that I see.

Does anyone have any example quotes one way or another? Note, I am looking for a specific quote answer (either from the book or creators of it). I can already see both ways so interpretations of wording I don't expect to help me. I also am aware of what the stamina section itself says. If providing the quotes I do know about here helps my answer please leave a comment, I can do it.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Providing quotes you know and find non-conclusive would certainly help people to not post the same quotes as conclusive answers. If you think it's too much, then maybe at least page & line numbers and two, three words why? \$\endgroup\$
    – Mołot
    Mar 18, 2019 at 20:56

1 Answer 1

4
\$\begingroup\$

Stamina modifies your hit points every level

From the 4th printing (page 18):

Your Stamina modifier affects hit points (even at level 0) and Fortitude saving throws. Note that a character earns a minimum of 1 hit point per character level regardless of Stamina.

There would be no reason to spell out that stamina affects your hit points even at level 0, where you are not even part of any class yet, or that you get a minimum of 1 hit point per character level if Stamina couldn't modify your dice roll to become a negative number.

There are no exceptions to this anywhere in the rules, so your Stamina should modify your character's hit points at all levels.

However, this is a question frequently asked at goodman games forums, but as users have noted there, that should have been made clear and explicitly called out in that section of the book.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .