The incapacitated condition description (PHB 290) says:

An incapacitated creature can't take actions or reactions.

Meaning that you can still move. But what about "interactions"?

Page 190 of the PHB describes examples you can do "in tandem with your movement and action", it also mentions, "You can interact with one object of feature in your environment for free".

It seems that an "Interaction" is distinctly different from an "Action" or a "Reaction".

Are you still allowed to do (one) interaction on your turn when incapacitated?


1 Answer 1


You can interact with an object by merely using movement

The Basic Rules (and the Player's Handbook section you reference) specify:

You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action.

Since the Incapacitated condition only says:

An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions.

You can still move, and therefore interact with an object or the environment when you do so.

Usually an incapacitated creature can't move anyway

Do note, however, that the most common cause of the Incapacitated condition is through other conditions like Unconscious:

An unconscious creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can’t move or speak, and is unaware of its surroundings

and Paralyzed:

A paralyzed creature is incapacitated (see the condition) and can’t move or speak.

and Petrified:

The creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can’t move or speak, and is unaware of its surroundings.

and Stunned:

A stunned creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can’t move, and can speak only falteringly.

In these instances, as you can't move or take actions, you would be unable to interact with an object or with a feature of the environment.

  • 10
    \$\begingroup\$ The Tasha's hideous laughter and symbol (pain) spells cause one to be Incapacitated, but do not take away movement. Those are the only times that happens that I am aware of. \$\endgroup\$
    – mdrichey
    Mar 19, 2019 at 21:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DavidCoffron therefore, if you don't (but can) move and don't take action, you can not interact with an object? \$\endgroup\$
    – enkryptor
    Mar 19, 2019 at 21:07
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @enkryptor correct. The free object/environment interaction necessitates "during either your move or your action" \$\endgroup\$ Mar 19, 2019 at 21:23
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Of course if you aren't taking a different action, you could usually just take the Use an Object action. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 19, 2019 at 21:23
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @enkryptor "On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed. You can use as much or as little of your speed as you like" - I would say that a move of zero (or call it a millimeter, if you must) can be included in "as little as you like", and allows an object interaction. \$\endgroup\$
    – Foo Bar
    Sep 14, 2019 at 12:50

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .