11
\$\begingroup\$

I'm pretty new to D&D, and right now I'm trying to make a character starting at a higher level for a campaign. The DM is allowing us to start with some magical items of our choice.

Using the Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron, I decided to make a Warforged, and the Warforged race has a few exclusive magical items, one of which is the armblade. In the description of the armblade, it says:

An armblade isn’t inherently considered to be a magic weapon for purposes of overcoming damage resistance. However, any sort of magical melee weapon could be created as an armblade, so you could acquire a vicious armblade or a vorpal armblade.

However, as the armblade already requires attunement, if I make a magical weapon that already requires attunement as an armblade, does the resulting weapon require double attunement or something?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Note: the description of this magic item was changed in Eberron: Rising from the Last War and in the updated version of Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. I'm not sure if it changes the question/answers. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Nov 23 '19 at 2:08
14
\$\begingroup\$

No, attunement is attunement

An item can either require attunement or not. The armblade requiring attunement simply means the weapon requires attunement (as in attaching it to yourself) even if the normal variant of the magical weapon doesn't.

Specifically for the "number of attunements", the restriction is on the number of magical items not the number of attunement, as per the DMG (p. 138):

An item can be attuned to only one creature at a time and a creature can be attuned to no more than three magic items at a time.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ So, just to clarify, you're saying that an Armblade made of a magic weapon would count as two magic items for the purposes of attunement cap? \$\endgroup\$ – Winterborne Mar 25 '19 at 16:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @winterborne No, I'm saying it doesn't. As it is only one item (singular object), it counts as one. \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Mar 25 '19 at 17:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ Note: the description of this magic item was changed in Eberron: Rising from the Last War and in the updated version of Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. I'm not sure if it changes the question/answers. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Nov 23 '19 at 2:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast The new version also has attunement so it doesn't change the question nor answer (as far as I can see). Do you know what specifically was changed? \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Nov 23 '19 at 10:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Someone_Evil: It no longer has the "Magic Armblades" sidebar, and the attunement requirement says "(requires attunement by a warforged)". The description now just reads: "An armblade is a magic weapon that attaches to your arm, becoming inseparable from you as long as you're attuned to it. To attune to this item, you must hold it against your forearm for the entire attunement period. As a bonus action, you can retract the armblade into your forearm or extend it from there. While it is extended, you can use the weapon as if you were holding it, and you can't use that hand for other purposes." \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Nov 23 '19 at 10:55
3
\$\begingroup\$

No, you only attune once

..., any sort of magical melee weapon could be created as an armblade, so you could acquire a vicious armblade or a vorpal armblade.

The above phrase simply refers to the fact that an armblade can be enchanted in the same way as any other magical weapon.

That is, magical weapons in the Dungeon's Masters guide (and other sources) state the kinds of weapons that can hold a given type of enchantment.

For example, "Vicious Weapon" says "Weapon(any)". Meaning that potentially any kind of weapon could be found that has this type of magic: A vicious longsword, a vicious warhammer and so on.

So, what this is saying is that you could get a vicious armblade in the same way that you could get a vicious longsword. But even if the armblade always requires attunement anyway, this has no additional effect, since you are only limited by the number of items you can attune (not 'enchantments').

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Note: the description of this magic item was changed in Eberron: Rising from the Last War and in the updated version of Wayfinder's Guide to Eberron. I'm not sure if it changes the question/answers. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Nov 23 '19 at 2:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.