15
\$\begingroup\$

I am building an Artificer, and I'm looking at some of his powers that give bonuses to allies. For example,

Dancing Shield. Minor action, ranged 5, Target: One Ally.

You conjure a shield of metal and magic to protect the target. The target gains a +4 power bonus to AC and Reflex until the end of the encounter. As a minor action, you can move the shield to a new target within range.

Now I can only hope that I will be able to use powers like this on myself if need be.

\$\endgroup\$
18
\$\begingroup\$

Nope. An ally is "a companion of the power's user." [Rules Compendium, 106] Powers that can affect the caster too usually bear a "You or an ally" target line.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ +1. And just to intensify the answer, powers that can affect the caster too usually bear a "You or an ally" target line. \$\endgroup\$ May 17 '12 at 13:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ErikBurigo Thanks. I'll edit my answer to include that. \$\endgroup\$
    – Jadasc
    May 17 '12 at 13:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ 4e is written that there should be no rules assumptions. Powers do exactly and only what they say. \$\endgroup\$ May 22 '12 at 21:06
8
\$\begingroup\$

Also, I am pretty sure there are powers with a "Target: You or one ally" entry. Your assumption would make them redundant, now wouldn't it?

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .