3
\$\begingroup\$

The contingency spell specifies that you may only store "a spell of 5th level or lower" with it. However, it does not specify what spell slot level it must be cast through.

RAW, would it be possible to cast, for example, a 9th-level Melf's minute meteors, seeing as how the spell itself is only 3rd level?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by MikeQ, V2Blast dnd-5e Mar 28 at 2:36

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

7
\$\begingroup\$

The spell is the same level as the slot used to cast it

The PHB says:

Casting a Spell at a Higher Level

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into. (PHB 201)

According to the rules, an upcast spell counts as whatever level the slot used to cast it was. There's no difference between slot level and cast level on a cast spell.

Thus, melf's minute meteor cast at 9th level is a 9th level spell and will not be able to be used with contingency because contingency requires that the spell, as cast, be 5th level or lower.

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

You can use a spell slot up to 5th level.

When you cast a spell, the spell's level is equal to the level of the spell slot used. From the PHB (p201):

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. [...] Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.

So you can use Contingency to prepare Melf's Minute Meteors at up to 5th level.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.