Can you True Polymorph yourself into an object? Or would doing so break your concentration on the spell?


I find this the relevant part in the true polymorph spell description:

Creature into Object. If you turn a creature into an object, it transforms along with whatever it is wearing and carrying into that form. The creature’s statistics become those of the object, and the creature has no memory of time spent in this form, after the spell ends and it returns to its normal form.

If you have no memory later, that kinda makes concentration impossible. I mean it could be amnesia, but nothing implies that at all.


The transformation lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. If you concentrate on this spell for the full duration, the transformation lasts until it is dispelled.

This is not unambiguous to me. It might mean that either the end of concentration, dropping to 0 hit points or dying stops the spell (which would be in line with the Duration field), or that the transformation reverts on 0 hp and dying, unless you concentrate, in which case you can keep it up to the full duration, even if the subject died. In the latter case, you can turn yourself into an object, and unless severely damaged, stay that way for the hour.

|improve this answer|||||

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.