0
\$\begingroup\$

I know that it’s possible to cast spells with a higher level spell slot than what it’s original spell level requires and several spells even give extra benefits for doing so. What I was wondering is if you cast a spell with a higher level spell slot, does the spell become the same level as the spell slot.

For example is someone casts Scorching Ray (a second level spell) with a seventh level spell slot, would the resulting spell be a seventh level spell or a second level spell? I’m curious about this because I want to know how things like counter spell and dispel magic interact with this mechanic.

Thanks!

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Sdjz, Ryan Thompson, David Coffron dnd-5e Apr 1 at 17:23

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Apr 1 at 20:56
5
\$\begingroup\$

The spell assumes the higher level for that casting

This is explained in the Basic Rules under the Spellcasting section:

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.