In combat a character can always take a REA+INI test to avoid an incoming attack.
However, the 'Dodge' Interupt Action allows the character to add their Gymnastic Skill dice to the REA+INI defence pool, suffering a -5 penalty to their INI for this benefit.
My question is, can those GYM dice be added after the REA+INI dice have been rolled? Or must it be declared up front prior to any dice being rolled?
For example, a character is shot at, and the assailant gets four hits. PC opts for the standard REA+INI test, but only gets two hits. Can they then add GYM dice to try and gain more hits to negate the shot?
To my way of thinking, the dice pool should be generated prior to rolling. The PC has to make a cost/benefit analysis re using an interrupt action. Adding dice after a failed roll seems cheesy and seems to be counter-intuitive the game mechanics.
If you think you can generate enough hits of REA+INI (because you don't want to take the INI penalty) and subsequently fail the defence test then that should be the cost.
Or have I misinterpreted the application of the dodge rule?