3
\$\begingroup\$

Does making a Feral Tiefling in AL require SCAG to be your "+1" book?

My gut is leaning towards yes since those are variants on a PHB race, yes, but the variants themselves are only in that one book.

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, sadly it does count for the +1 rule.

You can't use Xanathar's subclasses without choosing Xanathar's Guide as your "+1" book, even though the base class is in the PHB. It should be the same with races, too.

And, according to the quote from NautArch's answer to the linked question:

The variant or optional rules are available when creating your character:

[...]

  • Half-Elf and Tiefling Variants (SCAG/ToF)
  • Option: Human Languages (SCAG) [This option isn't subject to PHB+1]

Seeing as it was not specified to deny the rule, it stands to reason the rule still applies.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.