11
\$\begingroup\$

In Monster Manual p. 295-298, it talks about PCs becoming Vampires. The Vampire stat block says:

Multiattack. The vampire makes two attacks, only one of which can be a bite attack.

(The Vampire Spawn has the same Multiattack action.)

Because of the word "can", would it be possible to assume that it also could choose not to? Specifically, for the multiattack, could the Vampire just use their claws twice instead of one claw and one bite?

It looks like they can't bite twice because "only one" can be a bite, but it doesn't comment on the claws.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site! Are you referring to the vampire spawn monster? I ask because the full-fledged vampire lacks a claw attack, instead having an unarmed strike attack. Also, feel free to take the tour if you have a chance. Happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Apr 5 at 15:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ Actually both, because they both have the same multiattack description. THANKS COMMUNITY! \$\endgroup\$ – user53611 Apr 5 at 16:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Apr 5 at 21:41
18
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, they can make two of the same attack

As you intuit, the use of can means the option for a vampire is either...

  • 2 unarmed strike attacks (claws for vampire spawn)
  • 1 bite, 1 unarmed strike attack

The inclusion of that clause is to remove the option of...

  • 2 bite attacks

only one of which can be a bite attack. [emphasis mine]

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

You're right

The vampires multiattack action limits it to making (at most) one bite attack, but the others (one or two, depending) can be any other attack it has available, including claws as well as any weapons it is equipped with, in any combination.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.