12
\$\begingroup\$

An interesting issue came up in a game we were playing recently: Our party was on an airship and attacked by flying young dragons. My sorcerer cast a spell that triggered a wild magic surge and rolled a self-centered fireball (at 20,000 feet, whee!).

Here's the issue. Fireball says:

The fire spreads around corners. It ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried.

I've noticed that certain monsters have the "Siege Monster" feature which says:

Siege Monster. The [monster] deals double damage to objects and structures.

This suggests that objects and structures are legally different things and therefore Fireball would ignite an object but not a structure.

But then, perhaps a structure is a type of object? What is the nature/relationship of these two classifications of entities?

(For what it's worth, we ruled that the rope rigging was flammable because rope appears on the gear item table).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Related to, but not a duplicate of, this question \$\endgroup\$ – Mwr247 Apr 8 at 17:05
28
\$\begingroup\$

A structure is not an object, but is made of objects

From page 246 of the DMG and the basic rules:

For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.

Lacking a definition from the source books, a "structure" is defined by its common English definition, which would be:

the arrangement of and relations between the parts or elements of something complex.

Thus a structure might be considered to be "a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects".

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You probably didn't even need to go with the common english. The object rules call out vehicle or building separately. But +1 anyway :) \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Apr 8 at 17:13
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch Agreed, but the object rules don't specifically state buildings or vehicles as structures. I wanted to solidify the assertion that 5e itself doesn't define what a structure is, and so we can fall back on the common definition to reach that conclusion with certainty. \$\endgroup\$ – Mwr247 Apr 8 at 17:16
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ It might be worth pointing out that common sense would indicate that a burning object could certainly eventually set fire to a structure (GM adjudication, of course). I don't think this sort of thing needs to be made explicit within the rules themselves, though. \$\endgroup\$ – keithcurtis Apr 8 at 17:19
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ "Is made of objects" that jibes with our table-side ruling of the rope rigging being flammable but not the deck planking. \$\endgroup\$ – Rykara Apr 8 at 17:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ A DM could rule the structures to be combustible, meaning that when exposed to enough heat and time then it would start to burn. So a fireball would not start an airship on fire, but flammable objects on the airship left to burn could eventually ignite the ship. \$\endgroup\$ – Alk Apr 17 at 23:52

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.