0
\$\begingroup\$

Pact of the Blade says that

You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon.

It doesn't specify the need for attunement. Though since the ritual takes one hour, the side-effect is that you'll attune the weapon anyway.

but, assuming there is a scenario where you're not attuned to an attunement weapon, can you still bind it as a pact weapon? I assume you won't gain its additional magic benefits beyond the +x to attack and damage rolls

secondary question: If this is possible, does that mean you won't be cursed either due to not attuning?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Purple Monkey dnd-5e Apr 9 at 3:56

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.