Can the protection from evil and good spell be used on the caster?

It doesn't say anything about it in the descripton but I know that some spells prevent them from being used on the spellcaster.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. I fixed the spell name; please make sure that I correctly identified the spell you're talking about. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Apr 10 '19 at 1:57

Spells with range of Touch can be cast on self

The Players Handbook states under the heading Range (PHB 202, emphasis mine):

The target of a spell must be within the spell’s range. For a spell like magic missile, the target is a creature. For a spell like fireball, the target is the point in space where the ball of fire erupts.

Most spells have ranges expressed in feet. Some spells can target only a creature (including you) that you touch.

As indicated here in the description of Range, a spell with the range of Touch can be cast on yourself. Protection from Evil and Good has a range of Touch so the spellcaster can cast it on themselves.


In the Spellcasting section of the PHB, under "Targeting Yourself", it says:

If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the area of effect of a spell you cast, you can target yourself.

The spell doesn't specify anything about restrictions on the target so yes. You can cast this spell and many other Touch spells on yourself.


According to D&D Beyond,

Until the spell ends, one willing creature you touch is protected [...]

It doesn't specify "other creature" or "enemy creature", so assuming you're capable of touching yourself, it may target its own caster just fine.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ And that you are willing which you probably are \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Apr 10 '19 at 1:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ I couldn't figure out why it wouldn't let me fix my quote, apparently you edited it less than 10 seconds after I posted it :P \$\endgroup\$ – gatherer818 Apr 10 '19 at 1:59
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @DaleM So... if you were Dominated, and forced to cast protection on yourself, but you liked being Dominated (the spell effect, not anything else), you could cause the spell to fail... by asserting your free will... to prevent yourself from asserting your free will... and overusing ellipses... \$\endgroup\$ – gatherer818 Apr 10 '19 at 2:08

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.