12
\$\begingroup\$

What happens if I have a Familiar (from the Find Familiar spell) hidden in a coat pocket (not a pocket dimension, just a regular pocket), and I use the Greater Invisibility spell on myself? Would it turn invisible with me, or would it remain visible, floating awkwardly in space?

You or a creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target’s person.

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, as long as it remains on your person

Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target’s person.

The spell indicates "anything" you are carrying becomes invisible. It doesn't say "any objects", so there is no restriction that this does not apply to creatures you are carrying.

In fact, it seems like you could even be carrying this familiar in your hands rather than hidden in a pocket, and it would still remain invisible.

This also implies that any other creature you're carrying would share the invisibility.

If the familiar stopped being on your person, it would no longer be invisible.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 12
    \$\begingroup\$ ... Invisible Centaur Stack? \$\endgroup\$ – Chronocidal Apr 12 at 12:15
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Chronocidal doesn't work, as laid out here: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/122712/…. We can dream, though :) \$\endgroup\$ – Vigil Apr 12 at 12:36
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm a bit unclear on this answer: it seems to imply that if you were "carrying" another character you could also make them invisible. E.G. If a halfling was sitting on a half orc's shoulders and the half orc had greater invisibility cast on her, they would both become invisible. Was it your intent to suggest that the spell works this way? \$\endgroup\$ – Gandalfmeansme Apr 12 at 16:22
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Gandalfmeansme yes, that was my intent - I believe the interpretation I am following here implies that to be the case. \$\endgroup\$ – Vigil Apr 12 at 16:24
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch "Moving a Grappled Creature: When you move, you can drag or carry the Grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you." - seems clear you can carry while grappling, but I'm unsure how that affects the answer or in what context I should be citing it. \$\endgroup\$ – Vigil Jun 29 at 15:09
2
\$\begingroup\$

No; "anything" means "any object".

In the absence of special game definitions for terms, D&D 5e reverts to natural language in interpreting the rules.

The word "anything" is defined on Dictionary.com as:

pronoun

  1. any thing whatever; something, no matter what:
    Do you have anything for a toothache?

noun

  1. a thing of any kind.

The word "thing" has many definitions/uses, but its primary definition is:

noun

  1. a material object without life or consciousness; an inanimate object.

(Other dictionaries display similar definitions.)

In this context, what this means is that a spell like greater invisibility (when cast to target a single creature) turns the creature and any objects being worn (e.g. clothing) or carried (e.g. weapons) are invisible as long as the spell remains active. The word "anything" does not somehow make a single-target spell into a multiple-target spell just by the targeted creature carrying another creature.

Objects are defined in the basic rules/DMG:

For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.

This generally matches the definition of "thing" above.


A question in the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium addresses a very related topic:

Some spells (like eldritch blast) target a creature. Some others (like fire bolt) target objects too. Does this mean that I can’t attack the door with eldritch blast?

The target specifications (creature, object, or something else) in spells are intentional.

In this case, greater invisibility clearly targets a single creature at its lower level, and allows the invisibility to extend to "anything" worn or carried by the creature. In this context, it clearly uses a term used to refer to objects, and doesn't mention the word "creature". If the spell's benefits were meant to extend to creatures carried by the target, it would clearly say so.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.