11
\$\begingroup\$

The rules for the haste spell state the following:

When the spell ends, the target can’t move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.

--- Player's Handbook p. 250

Does this give attackers an advantage against you as you cannot move? What about making Strength/Dexterity saves during this period? I find it unclear as to what it means by 'can’t move or take actions'?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ If it meant the "Stunned" condition, it would say so. The only ambiguity in my eyes is whether "actions" includes Bonus Actions. I think so. \$\endgroup\$ – Peter Cordes Apr 17 at 20:29
25
\$\begingroup\$

It means exactly what it says: No movement (speed becomes 0), and no actions (action, bonus action or reaction*).

The rest of the mechanics apply normally: no disadvantage, saves as needed. It doesn't say that any specific condition applies, so nothing else matters...

*(As was noted in the comments and in the related question On the turn after Haste ends, can you use a reaction? , reaction should probably not be included. However, my interpretation goes along the "reaction is a special kind of action" PHB quote)

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ According to rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/59079/… you can still use reactions. \$\endgroup\$ – Rob Watts Apr 17 at 19:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RobWatts According to that link it seems that reactions are "a special kind of action". \$\endgroup\$ – Vadruk Apr 17 at 21:57
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Vadruk: That is according to the answer with fewer upvotes. While reactions may be a "special kind of action", there's no rule that says things that prevent actions also prevent reactions (and, in fact, everything that prevents reactions specifically says so, separately from actions). They are "special", after all. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Apr 17 at 23:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast After reading both answers a couple more time, I have to agree with you. \$\endgroup\$ – Vadruk Apr 18 at 5:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ I feel that Crawford's tweet is (intentionally?) vague, probably stating his preference for ruling over the Haste spell, but it was two years ago and it hasn't made it into the Sage Advice (updated 2019), so his ruling may not be what the developers intended - as stated in PHB (special kind of action). \$\endgroup\$ – adonies Apr 18 at 5:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.