11
\$\begingroup\$

The rules for the haste spell state the following:

When the spell ends, the target can’t move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.

--- Player's Handbook p. 250

Does this give attackers an advantage against you as you cannot move? What about making Strength/Dexterity saves during this period? I find it unclear as to what it means by 'can’t move or take actions'?

\$\endgroup\$
0

1 Answer 1

26
\$\begingroup\$

It means exactly what it says: No movement (speed becomes 0), and no actions (action, bonus action or reaction*).

The rest of the mechanics apply normally: no disadvantage, saves as needed. It doesn't say that any specific condition applies, so nothing else matters...

*(As was noted in the comments and in the related question On the turn after Haste ends, can you use a reaction? , reaction should probably not be included. However, my interpretation goes along the "reaction is a special kind of action" PHB quote)

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ According to On the turn after Haste ends, can you use a reaction?, you can still use reactions. \$\endgroup\$
    – Rob Watts
    Apr 17, 2019 at 19:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RobWatts According to that link it seems that reactions are "a special kind of action". \$\endgroup\$
    – Vadruk
    Apr 17, 2019 at 21:57
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Vadruk: That is according to the answer with fewer upvotes. While reactions may be a "special kind of action", there's no rule that says things that prevent actions also prevent reactions (and, in fact, everything that prevents reactions specifically says so, separately from actions). They are "special", after all. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Apr 17, 2019 at 23:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast After reading both answers a couple more time, I have to agree with you. \$\endgroup\$
    – Vadruk
    Apr 18, 2019 at 5:21

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .