1
\$\begingroup\$

Let us assume an enemy spellcaster has failed their first saving throw against the Compelled Duel spell (PHB, p. 224). Thus the enemy "must make a Wisdom saving throw each time it attempts to move to a space that is more than 30 feet away from you".

Does this saving throw apply if:

  1. They are casting Misty Step or similar to teleport more than 30 feet away from you?

  2. They are casting Plane Shift or similar to go to another plane of existence?

    And not a spell, but:

  3. They are already more than 30 feet away from you by some mechanism, but have not passed the saving throw this turn? (For example, if enemies shove you such that you are more than 30 feet away from the target, but you have not ended your turn 30 feet or more away from the target.)

\$\endgroup\$

closed as too broad by V2Blast, Ifusaso, Blake Steel, Jason_c_o, Pyrotechnical Apr 19 at 19:32

Please edit the question to limit it to a specific problem with enough detail to identify an adequate answer. Avoid asking multiple distinct questions at once. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

0
\$\begingroup\$

Misty Step

Teleportation does NOT count as Movement, in any situation where "movement" is the specific trigger for an effect.

Plane Shift

Same deal as above.

Already 30' away

If they attempt to move to any location that isn't within 30' of the caster, they'd have to make a wisdom saving throw, even if they're moving towards the caster. So they would have to succeed on a Wisdom Saving Throw or be stuck in place.

At my table, I generally rule that movement towards the person who cast Compelled Duel does not trigger this saving throw, regardless of the distance, but my ruling is not the Rules-as-Written.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.