1
\$\begingroup\$

When a paladin gets to the third level, it can choose an oath from the paladins oaths. This oath gives certain abilities and spells that act "naturally" for the oath. This means that it doesn't need to be prepared, while the other spells do need a certain preparation before hand, a paladin needs to have certain spell slots and they must think about the spells they can cast before sleep (that's the preparation).

But something remains unclear for me. Do the spells of the paladin's oath work like cantrips for wizards and mages? Does using one still consume a spell slot?

I am actually playing a Paladin in a campaign, and I think those spells don't work like that, but I am not sure of that.

\$\endgroup\$

closed as unclear what you're asking by Purple Monkey, Carcer, NathanS, Miniman, V2Blast Apr 21 at 9:17

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ What edition of D&D are you playing? \$\endgroup\$ – Purple Monkey Apr 21 at 8:13
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi Martin, welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already. I have made some minor edits regarding grammar, but please override my edits if I have changed the meaning of your question in any way. Please note that this question will likely be closed as unclear unless you can provide the edition of D&D, since different editions have different rules so giving an answer is impossible without knowing the edition. Thanks and happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Apr 21 at 9:04
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Martin, we still need to know what edition of D&D you're playing. Each edition has different rules so we can't answer this without knowing which edition's rules we're looking at. Please add a tag to indicate the edition; for example: dnd-5e, dnd-4e, dnd-3.5e, pathfinder, adnd, adnd-2e? If you're unsure then please check out this question here to help you identify which edition of D&D you're playing. \$\endgroup\$ – Purple Monkey Apr 21 at 22:49