The description of the absorb elements spell says:

The spell captures some of the incoming energy, lessening its effect on you and storing it for your next melee attack. [...] Also, the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type, and the spell ends.

The irst line says "next melee attack". Later, it says "next turn". Which is it?

Let's say I use my movement to jump into a bonfire, use my reaction to cast absorb elements, and use the rest of my movement to get up to the enemy and attack him, all in the same turn. Does my attack have the extra elemental damage?

Does absorb elements apply to your next attack or does it have to be on your next turn?


3 Answers 3


It says both :(

The first sentence of Absorb Elements doesn't have a qualifier

The language in the lead for the spell simply states that the spell is

storing it for your next melee attack

This seems like it should work just fine in your scenario, but it's also in direct contradiction of the third line of the spell

But then it does...

The third line of the spell adds a qualifier that the extra damage gets triggered at the start of your next turn if you make a melee attack.

I've bolded the relevant qualifier in the quote below:

Also, the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type, and the spell ends.

In this reading with your scenario, you wouldn't be able to use it in the same turn you used your reaction to cast it.

Up to the DM

My unprovable hunch is that the assumption is that you receive your damage when it's not your turn and you generally wouldn't get an attack until your turn. In your scenario, you are triggering this damage yourself by jumping into the bonfire.

Given that, I don't think it would be unreasonable of a DM to allow it's use same turn. You've chosen to expose yourself to damage and burn a resource so that you can deliver some more damage. Just be aware that if you do have a concentration spell going, you'll also have to roll a con save for the fire damage you're giving yourself.

  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ Though I still think that the totally-not-flavor text sets up a bit of a contradiction here. It does look from that first line like it would have some effect on your next attack regardless of when it is (even though there is no effect described later to back that up). \$\endgroup\$ Apr 25, 2019 at 19:07
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I will note that there may be a mechanical reason for the "on your next turn" limitation: to prevent two castings of Absorb Elements from ever applying to the same attack, as described here: rpg.stackexchange.com/a/143366/40516 \$\endgroup\$ Apr 26, 2019 at 5:07

I think the answer to this question lies in the "Also" given in the description.

We know that regardless of whatever else happens, we "Also" get to apply the elemental damage to the first melee hit we get on our next turn. We know that with certainty, as it gives the necessary mechanics for how to accomplish this right after the "Also".

The spell could be describing two separate attacks, however it only provides mechanics for the attack we get on our next turn. It provides no mechanics for our "next attack."

With this understanding, we can infer that the intent of the spell is not to allow two attacks to have the extra elemental damage added to them.

Therefore, the only attack we get to use the extra elemental damage for is

the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn

Unfortunately, the opening sentence in the spell does make it a bit confusing.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Good first answer! \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Apr 26, 2019 at 4:12

Some spell and ability descriptions are poorly worded and haven't been corrected but the first sentence of a spell or effect can sometimes be considered a mere description of the effect, rather than a fully accurate rule about how it is to be applied. I'm NOT going so far as to say it's flavour text as that opens a whole can of worms with some people.

But if you consider it as merely a descriptive opener to the spell, a teaser if you will, then you get into the meat of the rules in the next sentence and after.

For comparison I'll use the Rogue Evasion ability, which suffers from the same problem:

Beginning at 7th level, you can nimbly dodge out of the way of certain area Effects, such as a red dragon's fiery breath or an Ice Storm spell. When you are subjected to an Effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you instead take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, and only half damage if you fail.

The first line mentions "area effects" and even gives two examples of attacks that are area effects. But it then goes on to omit the word "area" from the rest of the description and during the actual explanation of how the ability works.

What to do?

I think the simplest, and most consistent approach to consider the first line as just a summary of the spell/effect/ability and nothing more than that. This makes sense as many, many spells have a first line that adds nothing beyond a brief description. Melf's Acid Arrow, for example, starts with:

A shimmering green arrow streaks toward a target within range and bursts in a spray of acid.

But in this case, it doesn't include anything that could be interpreted as an actual game mechanic and so doesn't cause a problem.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .