3
\$\begingroup\$

Alright, so my question, related to this one is: Could a player use Dispel Magic to end the effect of a divination spell, if detected?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, if the divination spell places something within range for them to target

Provided they know there is a magical effect within range, they can cast Dispel Magic on it.

Detect Magic states:

Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. [...]

In particular, as it does not require you to be able to see the effect, you can target invisible creatures, objects and magical effects. You simply need to know it is within range in order to target it.

Additionally your DM may require you to direct the Dispel Magic in a particular direction, and if you choose the wrong one you will fail to "hit" it.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.