2
\$\begingroup\$

Does casting the glyph of warding spell from a spell scroll take 1 action or 1 hour?

Say a wizard has a scroll of glyph of warding (GOW). Would they be able to, at time of casting - assuming you can now cast it in one action, rather than one hour - store a spell in it, if they had remaining spell slots and a spell prepared that is able to be put in GOW?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ The question in the body seems to not quite match the title... The body assumes that the answer to the title question is "yes", and then seems to state a question whose answer seems "yes" if the assumption is true... (I see the title was changed to what it was by NautArch before my slight edit.) \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast May 3 at 3:53
5
\$\begingroup\$

A Spell Scroll has the same cast time as the original spell

This is made clear, after the 2015 DMG errata, in the description for a Spell Scroll:

A spell scroll bears the words of a single spell, written as a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without having to provide any of the spell's components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell's normal casting time. Once the spell is cast, the words on the scroll fade, and it crumbles to dust. If the casting is interrupted, the scroll is not lost.

[...]

Spell Scroll, Dungeon Master's Guide, pg. 200

So for Glyph of Warding, a spell that has a cast time of one hour, it would take an hour to cast a Scroll of Glyph of Warding.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.