I am running a game of D&D 5e. I am using an app to determine how a bandit does his attack against our group of players. The app says this in the bandit's statblock:

Scimitar. Melee Weapon Attack: +3 to hit, reach 5 feet., one target. Hit: 5 (1d8+1) piercing damage."

What I'm confused about is how much damage the bandit does on his d8 roll (assuming he beats my group's AC on his d20 roll). Do I add the +3 to hit, d8+1, and the 5 sitting outside the () or what...?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site! Please take the tour when you get the chance. There are have been several versions of D&D, each with fairly different rules. Can you tell us which edition you're asking about? \$\endgroup\$
    – Oblivious Sage
    May 11, 2019 at 15:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ This a takes place in 5e \$\endgroup\$
    – Brandon
    May 11, 2019 at 16:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you for your help I now understand the meaning of the attack. Have a good day. \$\endgroup\$
    – Brandon
    May 11, 2019 at 16:04


Browse other questions tagged .