4
\$\begingroup\$

If a Kobold Dragon Mage (Pathfinder Playtest Bestiary, p. 83) hits a character with its staff, it does 1d4–2 damage. If a 2 is rolled on the die, how much damage is dealt? What if a 1 is rolled on the die?

In both these cases in 1st-edition Pathfinder, the result would be 1 nonlethal damage, but I could find no answer to this question in the Pathfinder Playtest Rulebook.

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

We believe the minimum damage is 0

As noted under Resistance:

A creature with resistance reduces damage dealt to it by the amount listed in its resistance entry (to a minimum of 0 damage).

Which is the most common way to get your damage reduced in the game. But otherwise, there is no mention of minimum damage in the rules, and the community assumes this omission will be addressed in the final release of the rules.

Note that they also forgot to explain how this works when you are under the Enfeebled condition, which also lowers your damage done.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Could you add sources to establish this as a community consensus? \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso May 14 at 1:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ifusaso. There is no point, just search those keywords at paizo forums, many people have asked this. I would just wait for the final release. \$\endgroup\$ – ShadowKras May 14 at 2:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.