6
\$\begingroup\$

The Antilife Shell spell states:

An affected creature can cast spells or make attacks with ranged or reach weapons through the barrier.

This suggests that a human could attack with a glaive, since the weapon can reach the full 10 feet through the shell and strike the caster.

Does this include monsters whose natural weapons have a reach of 10 feet or greater? For example, a dragon's tail attack which has a 15-foot reach or a T-Rex's bite which has a 10-foot reach.

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

The description of Antilife Shell describes that

The barrier prevents an affected creature from passing or reaching through.

The part about "reaching through" seems applicable here: the intent is clearly that no part of the creature's body can make it through the barrier. Natural weapons are by definition part of a creature's body, and can therefore not reach through to attack targets within an antilife shell. (Ranged natural weapons, such as a manticore's tail spikes, are no longer attached to the body and should go through.)

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Where do manticore tail spikes come in on this? They are a natural weapon technically. Also, I'm not sure there is a manufactured melee weapon with enough reach to hit a target inside on an antilife shell. \$\endgroup\$ – Allan Mills May 14 at 22:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.