I’m using basic combat.
I have player A and a thug. Both have a dice pool of 7. The are in ranged contest combat. They both roll 7 dice whoever is the highest wins and the margin is the damage. I get that part.
I thought the rules explained this contest roll as a summation of the two combatants fighting it out, attacking and dodging.
So this is where I get confused. Same scenario. Player A and thug. Both have dice pools of 7 and are shooting at each other again.
This time player A has no cover. In the book it says no covers gives a -2 to the players defense pool. Here is where I’m confused. They are both shooting at each other as before and they are treating the combat as a ranged combat contest. Before they just rolled their dice pools of 7 and called it a day. But now since player A has no cover is player A suppose to roll a separate defense roll as well or is their attack pool of 7 suppose to be - 2 dice. Neither option makes sense.