Traveling between worlds in the system takes 1d6+2 Days (Core pg 291) while system wide communication takes 1d6-1 Hours (Core pg. 430).

Is there any reason a ship travelling in the Drift for 3-8 days can't communicate with someone on a planet in that system, on a non-drifting ship, or even with a ship that is also drifting with messages taking 0-5 hours to travel between communication arrays?

By RAW, I can't find anything limiting it, but I'm wondering if I've missed some rule that communications don't function while in the Drift.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    May 18, 2019 at 20:19

1 Answer 1


Yes, it can. In fact, all long-range communications happen through the Drift

Otherwise, they would take far longer to reach anywhere, as they would travel using the Speed of Light instead of going through a dimentional shortcut. This is mentioned only briefly in the core rulebook :

Interstellar communication

Like system-wide communication, interstellar communication uses Drift beacons to relay the information, and can theoretically transmit to an unlimited distance. Due to the restrictions of travel through the Drift, interstellar communication takes as long as it would take a spaceship to travel the same distance.

Since you're using Drift beacons to cross the distance anyway, it should work just as well if the signal originates in the Drift.

  • \$\begingroup\$ This is good info, but seems to require a bit of extrapolation to answer the question as asked. Could you add a tl;dr with a firm yes or no? \$\endgroup\$ May 19, 2019 at 2:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ Im not extrapolating anything. The OP apparently didn't know about Drift Beacons, and I just pointed that those are a thing. The question is answered. \$\endgroup\$
    – ShadowKras
    May 19, 2019 at 8:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ I made an edit to show what I'm talking about. To me, that's much clearer, especially if you're just skimming. If you object, you can of course revert. \$\endgroup\$ May 20, 2019 at 14:35

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .