The Healer feat (PHB, p. 167) says:

When you use a healer’s kit to stabilize a dying creature, that creature also regains 1 hit point.

As an action, you can spend one use of a healer’s kit to tend to a creature and restore 1d6 + 4 hit points to it, plus additional hit points equal to the creature’s maximum number of Hit Dice. The creature can’t regain hit points from this feat again until it finishes a short or long rest.

I know that a benefit from this feat is that you don't have to make a medicine check in order to stabilize a creature. However... For the second ability, is a Medicine check necessary in order to heal a creature?

I just got to use this feat for the first time yesterday and my DM had me roll a Medicine check. Is this accurate? Or does it depend on the DM?


1 Answer 1


No, you don't need to make a Medicine check

The Healer's Kit states (emphasis mine):

As an action, you can expend one use of the kit to stabilize a creature that has 0 hit points, without needing to make a Wisdom (Medicine) check.

The Healer feat says you can spend one use of the healer's kit to restore additional hitpoints, which is what makes the feat special. Otherwise you'd need to cast a spell, or use a potion, etc.

The rule of thumb is: if the Action requires a check, it will say so.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .