The Avatar of Death (as summoned by the skull card in a deck of many things) has both truesight and darkvision to a range of 60ft. The darkvision seems redundant, because truesight already lets you see through all darkness as if it were normal lighting. Is there any benefit to having both abilities?

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi @QPaul - I've rephrased your question slightly so that it asks directly about the mechanical implications of the rules, rather than specifically why a certain creature was written a certain way. The latter question is likely to get closed as a designer-reasons query (which we've decided isn't a good fit for the site, as such questions tend to produce a lot of unsupported speculation), but we can at least analyse the rules to see if there is a meaningful benefit to having both. \$\endgroup\$ – Carcer May 26 '19 at 15:09

The Avatar of Death probably not, a PC possibly

The Avatar of Death would likely always use truesight, as darkvision has less benefits.

If a PC was granted truesight and darkvision of 60 feet a PC would likely always use truesight up to the 60 foot range. A mechanical benefit to having darkvision would be the possible ability to increase the range of the darkvision beyond 60 feet. Using class features such as the Ranger Gloom Stalker’s Umbral Sight, the range for darkvision would be extended to 90 feet.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.