15
\$\begingroup\$

Can a character have on two identical rings, one in each ring slot? I can't seem to find any rule saying this isn't possible, but the DM thinks it may not be. The ring I have in mind is just a pair of +1 protection rings.

\$\endgroup\$
0

3 Answers 3

27
\$\begingroup\$

You can wear them, but their effects might not stack.

In this case, two rings of protection won't stack, because the rings provide a deflection bonus to AC, but deflection bonuses don't stack with other deflection bonuses.

\$\endgroup\$
6
  • \$\begingroup\$ Now rings that give you a dodge bonus to AC... \$\endgroup\$
    – Cthos
    Commented Jul 6, 2012 at 15:35
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ There's another reason they wouldn't stack; in 3.X, Pathfinder, and 4e, bonuses from sources of the same name never stack - so, for example, two Haste spells won't double the dodge bonus to your armor class. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 11, 2013 at 12:27
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Note, however, that while the lack of stacking bonuses does make most rings nearly worthless to double up on, there are a few exceptions. A Ring of Friend Shield, for example, doubled up on the end of the guy who soaks damage well, will allow him to protect 2 squishy allies at once by redirecting to himself half the damage due to each of them. Also, even non-stacking effects, such as your rings of protection, still provide slightly more benefit than none at all, since you're somewhat hedged against enemies who target one of them to suppress (with Dispel Magic or the like). \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 5, 2013 at 4:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hmm, Now Im wondering about Rings of Wizardry, would each one grant you the spells? \$\endgroup\$
    – Fering
    Commented Jun 2, 2015 at 17:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Fering This might be a good, separate question for the site. Do a quick search first to see if it isn't already answered. \$\endgroup\$
    – okeefe
    Commented Jun 2, 2015 at 20:14
16
\$\begingroup\$

There is no reason you can't but it won't be any better than using just one as like bonuses don't stack:

From the d20pfsrd:

Bonuses are numerical values that are added to checks and statistical scores. Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative (do not “stack”)—only the greater bonus granted applies.

So you'd only get a +1 bonus regardless of whether you are wearing 1 or 2 rings.

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

As the above says about two like bonuses, however there is an advantage to having two of the same ring if they have charges or some other use limit. So I wouldn't mind having two rings of Fireball, each with a 1/day use limit or some-such.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .