If there is an active Cloud of Daggers spell within the AOE of a Thunderwave spell, would the Cloud of Daggers spell be pushed back 10 feet?

From the description of Thunderwave:

In addition, unsecured objects that are completely within the area of effect are automatically pushed 10 feet away from you by the spell's effect, ...

Is a Cloud Of Daggers considered an unsecured object for the purpose of Thunderwave?


1 Answer 1



Cloud of Daggers says:

You fill the air with spinning daggers in a cube 5 feet on each side, centered on a point you choose within range. A creature takes 4d4 slashing damage when it enters the spell’s area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there.

The thing that Thuderwave would need to move is the "point you choose within range" - this is not an object so cannot be moved.

  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ This is certainly the easiest way to justify it, however spells can create objects. Can you explain a bit more (maybe using examples of the language spells use when they do) to support why you think this particular spells does not create objects? \$\endgroup\$ May 28, 2019 at 2:36
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I would think the spinning daggers are objects in the air but you could argue that the daggers are secured objects by "a point you choose". \$\endgroup\$
    – VIP3Rss
    May 28, 2019 at 3:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ As a flavor thing, you might allow the daggers themselves to be pushed away briefly, but the "spell's area" is based on the point you choose within range, so that's where the damaging effect takes place. \$\endgroup\$ Dec 16, 2021 at 5:22

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .