0
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

The current question is in some sense a follow-up to the following one:

Can I delay my turn in D&D 5e?

The answer to that question is no. The only means to acting at a different turn in the round than that which was assigned to you via Initiative rolls is the Ready action.

However, what if I decide right at the beginning of the encounter that I want to change the position of my turn permanently? Can I choose to lower my initiative? Is there any other way to achieve a similar effect?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Rubiksmoose dnd-5e May 28 at 16:52

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Did you look at the two answers other than the top one on that linked question? Do they answer your question? \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose May 28 at 16:50
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Specifically the other question asks "Has the delay rule to change initiative order been removed from 5th edition?" which seems exactly to be what you are asking. In previous editions, the Delay Action IIRC permanently delayed your initiative (just like you are asking about). None of the answer imply that they limited their scope to only temporary initiative changes either. So, I've marked this as a duplicate until we sort out exactly how these questions are different. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose May 28 at 16:52
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that getting a post marked as a duplicate is not a punishment or anything. In fact, it help searchers find our questions. All it does is prevent us from expending effort on the same question multiple times. Instead, we focus on improving old Q&As as needed if they are identical (as this seems to be). If you can make a compelling case for the question being different though, we can always reopen it. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose May 28 at 16:57
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @MarsPlastic No worries! We don't expect you to know everything, that is why we're here to help. We want to get you your answer. A comment would be a good way to indicate to an answer that a detail is missing that you would like added. I have given the question a bit of a polish to make it clearer what was being asked as well. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose May 28 at 17:16
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @MarsPlastic Such a rule (regarding shifting your initiative on the first turn) would almost certainly result in players deciding their "best" order and shifting down to achieve it in every combat, for instance deciding to all take their turns immediately after the character who usually knocks things prone. \$\endgroup\$ – Speedkat May 28 at 18:40
1
\$\begingroup\$

No

The post you have referenced explains the full scope of this issue, and there is no recourse to change your turn order after initiative is rolled.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.