12
\$\begingroup\$

If I am a warlock and I take the Ritual Caster feat, can I take spells from a different class and put it into my ritual casting book?

The feat says:

When you choose this feat, you acquire a ritual book holding two 1st-level spells of your choice. Choose one of the following classes: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You must choose your spells from that class’s spell list, and the spells you choose must have the ritual tag. The class you choose also determines your spellcasting ability for these spells: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock; Wisdom for cleric or druid; or Intelligence for wizard."

So, as a warlock, can the two I select be from that of a sorcerer?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome! You can take the tour as an introduction to the site and check the help center for further guidance. Good luck and happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – Sdjz May 30 at 13:53
16
\$\begingroup\$

Absolutely!

As you've quoted, the Ritual Caster feat (PHB, p. 169) is independent of your actual class. You can be a warlock and take the feat for Sorcerer rituals.

The only prerequisite is:

Intelligence or Wisdom of 13 or higher

As long as you've got either a WIS of 13 or an INT of 13, then you can select from any of the available classes.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ TL:DR: Think of this feat as an alternative to multiclassing, with the opportunity cost being a feat/ASI instead of a class level. \$\endgroup\$ – Peter Cordes May 30 at 22:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.