If a player is a 2nd-level sorcerer, and sacrifices one of their 1st-level spell slots to get an additional sorcery point, could they use their 3 sorcery points to create another 2nd-level spell slot?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to rpg.se! Take the tour and visit the help center for additional guidance. When you say "spell" do you mean "spell-slot"? Or are you asking if you gain a new spell? Thanks for participating and happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – linksassin Jun 1 '19 at 5:34
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ This dupe is misleading - it answers 'Yes' to a broader question, when the answer to the OP's more specific question should be 'No'. \$\endgroup\$ – Tiggerous Jun 1 '19 at 6:07
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @DuckTapeAl how can it be Yes when they can never have more than their max sorcery points? \$\endgroup\$ – Tiggerous Jun 1 '19 at 7:54


The rules state:

You can never have more sorcery points than shown on the table for your level. You regain all spent sorcery points when you finish a long rest.

At level 2, your maximum number of sorcery points is 2 (the value is always equal to your level from level 2 onwards). It takes 3 sorcery points to make a level 2 spell slot, so it is impossible.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.