As written, it wouldn't, because the ability specifically calls out creatures.
The dragonborn's Breath Weapon trait says (PHB, p. 34; emphasis mine):
When you use your breath weapon, each creature in the area of the exhalation must make a saving throw, the type of which is determined by your draconic ancestry. The DC for this saving throw equals 8 + your Constitution modifier + your proficiency bonus. A creature takes 2d6 damage on a failed save, and half as much damage on a successful one. The damage increases to 3d6 at 6th level, 4d6 at 11th level, and 5d6 at 16th level. After you use your breath weapon, you can’t use it again until you complete a short or long rest.
As a GM myself, I believe that this goes against the feel of the game and I allow it to damage unattended objects in the area. I think the wording was not an intentional attempt to ensure that the spell couldn't damage objects, but more a result of common wording used for a large variety of similar effects.
As written, however, it would not damage objects, as intended I do not think they even considered the option, and I would fall back to the rule of cool, as well as what the GM decided on for there specific game. It is certainly fair to say there wasn't enough acid, or it only affects certain types of matter, or other similar reasons for it to only affect creatures. For me, I like my dragonborn fire breathers to be able to start campfires with their breath weapons.