0
\$\begingroup\$

On page 274 of the 3.5 Monster Manual the leopard is stated to have:

Attack: Bite +6 melee (1d6+3) Full Attack: Bite +6 melee (1d6+3) and 2 claws +1 melee (1d3+1)

It also has the special attacks:

Improved Grab (Ex): To use this ability, a leopard must hit with its bite attack. It can then attempt to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. If it wins the grapple check, it establishes a hold and can rake.

Pounce (Ex): If a leopard charges a foe, it can make a full attack, including two rake attacks.

Rake (Ex): Attack bonus +6 melee, damage 1d3+1.

Would someone please error check my understanding of this? 1) The leopard charges a foe 2) It takes its full attack Bite +6 melee (1d6+3) and 2 claws +1 melee (1d3+1) AND due to its Pounce special attack it can also make two Rake attacks at +6 melee, damage 1d3+1 each. 3) Its bite hits and therefore starts a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. It wins the grapple check, establishes a hold and Rake(s).

So we have a full attack of 3 attacks plus 2 rakes from the pounce plus a further 2 rakes from hitting with its bite and winning the grapple check. For a total of 7 attacks. Is this correct?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Although it's about the lion and not the leopard, I'm pretty sure this is answered by the answer to this question. Answers, however, can still address this idea directly, I guess, without it being a total duplicate. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jun 4 at 15:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes it does answer the question by referring to your previous answer regards the lion I deduce that under the circumstances the leopard could take a total of 7 attacks if it wanted but it doesn't have to, if for whatever reason, it doesn't wish to start a grapple. \$\endgroup\$ – MichaelDorf Jun 4 at 16:02
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Almost. I'll write an answer. Even if this question is later marked as a duplicate, maybe the answer will help someone else looking for this same information. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jun 4 at 16:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ You may also be interested in this question. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jun 4 at 16:23
2
\$\begingroup\$

The pounce special ability of the leopard says, "If a leopard charges a foe, it can make a full attack, including two rake attacks" (Monster Manual 274).

This supplements but doesn't override the extraordinary ability rake that says, "A monster with the rake ability must begin its turn grappling to use its rake—it can’t begin a grapple and rake in the same turn" (313-14).

In other words, when it pounces the leopard can get as many as 5 attacks—including 2 rakes—and even end its turn in a grapple, but it will only be able to rake twice. To bring again its two rake attacks to bear, the leopard needs to either pounce again or wait until after it's been in a grapple at least 1 turn.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for your help, this clarifies the situation I mistakenly believed seven attacks was possible in the round, I understand now why this is incorrect. I'll mark this question answered. \$\endgroup\$ – MichaelDorf Jun 4 at 16:32

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.