3
\$\begingroup\$

I am playing a level 4 almost 5 Rogue Assassin. I have been trying to find out if Assassinate grants 2 attacks, say in the circumstance I fire my shortbow at a surprised enemy and Assassinate comes in to play its an automatic crit.

However, I've read on some websites that Assassinate grants 2 arrows to be fired (or 2 strikes with a shortsword) and on other sites it tells me nothing just, need an answer. Does Assassinate grant 2 attacks?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome! Please take the tour as an introduction to the site and check the help center for further guidance. Good luck and happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – Sdjz Jun 7 at 10:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site, Jacob! Please take the tour when you get the chance. For future questions, it's worth noting that because the rules between editions of D&D are so different, we use the [dnd-5e] tag to indicate questions specifically about 5th edition D&D, and the [dungeons-and-dragons] tag for questions that span multiple editions (e.g. "How have limitations on what rogues can apply sneak attack damage to changed over the course of D&D editions?"). \$\endgroup\$ – Oblivious Sage Jun 7 at 13:57
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome, Jacob! I've made an edit to your question to make it a bit easier to read etc. If you disagree with any of the changes feel free to edit further, revert the edit, or comment here if you're unsure. (You can @ any of us if you want to reply, or just make sure we get notified.) \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Jun 7 at 14:15
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thankyou for the help guys :) \$\endgroup\$ – Jacobtherogueboi Jun 7 at 15:22
14
\$\begingroup\$

No, Assassinate does not grant two attacks

The Assassinate feature grants two benefits: advantage against an enemy that hasn't taken a turn in the combat yet. And if the creature is surprised, then any hit you score is a critical hit.

There is nothing in the rules about the Assassinate feature granting additional attacks, so it doesn't.


Of course, you may make two attacks due to some other factor, such as two-weapon fighting. If you are wielding two weapons and attack before another creature has had it's turn, then both of those attacks would be made with advantage thanks to Assassinate.

I would be less inclined to have both of those attacks, if successful, turn into criticals though, since its arguable that after the first successful attack, your opponent is no longer surprised. However, that is a separate question discussed here (link provided by Sdjz)

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Cheers mate 🙏👌 \$\endgroup\$ – Jacobtherogueboi Jun 7 at 15:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ "since its arguable that after the first successful attack, your opponent is no longer surprised" - By the rules, surprise ends after the end of the enemy's first turn during the first round of combat; it's clear that if they're surprised during your first attack on your first turn, they'd still be surprised during a second attack on the same turn. The only difference is that if you were hidden before the first attack (as you'd likely need to be to surprise an enemy), you'd be revealed after the first attack hit or missed. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 7 at 18:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ (Since you'd need to beat them in initiative for them to still be surprised, you'd have advantage anyway from your class feature.) \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 7 at 18:29

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.