1
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

Do ability-boosting items or spells count for meeting feat prerequisites? I always reckoned that they do not. But now I wonder.

For example, the text for Gloves of Dexterity is

They add to the wearer's Dexterity score in the form of an enhancement bonus

So it comes down to the question: does a bonus become part of the score itself? This seems logical in the case of an inherent bonus. The inherent bonus is just a means of keeping track of permanent magical boosting e.g. via wish spells. This kind of boost is limited to 5 points. As a DM I would judge that boosting an ability score via wish spells does count for meeting prerequisites for feats. But, if so: What is the difference to an enhancement bonus?

Ok, it may not be permanent. But there are rules what happens if you no longer meet prerequisites: the feat ceases functioning until you meet the prerequisites again.

This kind of ruling would even mean you could cast a boost spell before leveling up to meet prerequisites, take a feat and this feat only works while you have enough active boosts.

So my question: Do ability boosting items or spells count for meeting prerequisites for feats?

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by the dark wanderer, Mołot, Sdjz, Szega, Miniman Jun 8 at 11:36

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ This question is answered for magic items here and for spells here. I'm not sure I can mark this a duplicate of both. Do you want to revise the question? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jun 8 at 8:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok, I did not see those! I delete! Best regards \$\endgroup\$ – Giorin Jun 8 at 8:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ Last question: does this also apply to prestige classes? \$\endgroup\$ – Giorin Jun 8 at 8:24
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Since the answer to this question in both cases is yes, figuring out why the same rules would not apply to prestige class requirements would be the first step in formulating a new question. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jun 8 at 8:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok, I consider that AFTER some research. Sorry for not deleting, but I did not find the delete function in the handy app. \$\endgroup\$ – Giorin Jun 10 at 10:02
1
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you could take the feat, but you would lose the use of the feat if, for whatever reason, you lose the bonus from the item.

\$\endgroup\$

We're looking for long answers that provide some explanation and context. Don't just give a one-line answer; explain why your answer is right, ideally with citations. Answers that don't include explanations may be removed.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! You can improve this answer by quoting/citing rules to support your answer. Take the tour if you haven't already and check out the help center center if you need more guidance. Good luck and happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Jun 8 at 14:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for answering - but my question had already been asked, I am just late deleting it. Best regards Giorin \$\endgroup\$ – Giorin Jun 10 at 9:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you for answering. You are right But I have been made aware of this question being a duplicate. \$\endgroup\$ – Giorin Jun 10 at 9:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Giorin No problem. \$\endgroup\$ – SkyPaul Jun 10 at 11:00

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.