A Warlock who chooses the Archfey patron gets the Fey Presence feature at level 1 (PHB, p. 109). The PHB says this ability, when used, lasts “until the end of your next turn”:

Starting at 1st level, your patron bestows upon you the ability to project the beguiling and fearsome presence of the fey. As an action, you can cause each creature in a 10-foot cube originating from you to make a Wisdom saving throw against your warlock spell save DC. The creatures that fail their saving throws are all charmed or frightened by you (your choice) until the end of your next turn.

Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a short or long rest.

When a character uses the power out of combat, how should this be handled by a DM? How long does it last? Should “your next turn” be interpreted as the player's turn?

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I've edited out the overly broad idea-generation portion of your question asking what could be done with this ability out of combat. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 10 '19 at 21:53

6 seconds

A round in combat, which is the period between any character’s turn and their next turn, is defined as 6 seconds.

It’s not a feature that is intended to be used outside combat and is therefore not very effective.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Not sure if the effectivity clause of this answer is necessarily useful; surely in roleplay it could be possible that summoning a frightening presence, even for 6 seconds, could provoke some kind of lasting effect socially. \$\endgroup\$ – user52772 Jun 11 '19 at 13:27

It is not really possible to use Fey Presence "Out of combat"

In addition to Dale M's answer, which will often be the simplest method of dealing with the matter, consider the following scenarios:

The Warlock uses Fey Presence on a hostile creature.

This is akin to making an attack. Initiative should be rolled.

The Warlock uses Fey Presence on a non-hostile creature.

There may be other creatures nearby who react to this action. Party members may want to act as well before the ability's effect wears off. Non party members may be see this as a hostile action and decide to attack.

Either way, initiative should be rolled to establish an order for any subsequent activity and to demarcate what can occur before the effect wears off.

In short. you can't use this ability "out of combat" because this is a combat ability and using it would put the character and target (etc) in combat. Again, though, this is the "longhand" form of events. A DM would be wise to identify if anyone else (and any NPCs) would like to act in response and, if not, use the round-equivalent amount of time (six seconds).


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.