3
\$\begingroup\$

If you were to craft potions of crafter's fortune, could you stack the effect by drinking multiple potions to get a +10 or +15 or your next Craft check?

The description of crafter's fortune states that the duration is 1 day per level or until discharged; it doesn't specifically state that they can't be stacked. I personally feel that this would be possible because it takes 1 round to drink a potion, so it would be 18 seconds to drink 3 potions and then you craft your item.

For background, I am a mutated monkey into a vanaran with a high Intelligence and a custom feat to increase the number of potions I brew at one time by my Intelligence modifier. I also have plans for economic domination using my potions.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Hello, and welcome to RPG.SE! When you get a chance, you might want to check out the tour and help center, which explain a lot more about how this site works. This is a great first question, and I hope we can help you with it! \$\endgroup\$ – DuckTapeAl Jun 11 at 3:26
8
\$\begingroup\$

You can't stack crafter's fortune.

The spell description for crafter's fortune states:

The target ... gains a +5 luck bonus on its next Craft skill check.

Luck is a type of bonus. According to the rules on bonus types,

Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative (do not “stack”)—only the greater bonus granted applies.

Since each casting of the spell (or draught of potion) is applying a luck bonus, the bonuses do not stack with each other. You only get a +5 bonus to your Craft check.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.