If a Warlock with the Trickster's Escape (Eldritch Invocation XGtE) uses his power to cast Freedom of Movement, would that allow him to escape a Forcecage?


No, Freedom of Movement does not counteract a Forcecage

Freedom of Movement has five principle effects:

  • Target is unaffected by Difficult Terrain
  • Target cannot have their speed reduced [by magical effects]
  • Target cannot be Paralyzed or Restrained [by magical effects]
  • Target can automagically escape from non-magical bindings using 5' of movement
  • Target does not get disadvantage from underwater combat

None of these effects are consequences of the effects of Forcecage, which only creates a [magical] barrier that the creature cannot pass through. As a result, Freedom of Movement has no effect on a creature trapped by a Forcecage.



Freedom of Movement doesn't give a creature carte blanche to move wherever it wants (e.g. through walls), it just prevents some specific effects (in addition to allowing escape from grapples and non-magical restraints for a cost of 5ft of movement):

  • extra movement costs from difficult terrain
  • reduction of speed caused by spells or magical effects
  • the paralyzed condition caused by spells or magical effects
  • the restrained condition caused by spells or magical effects
  • penalties to movement or attack due to being underwater

A Forcecage does not reduce the speed of creatures inside it, and creatures inside of it are neither paralyzed nor restrained. Essentially, it's just a collection of six walls of force which happen to be arranged in such a way that it's really inconvenient for anyone in a 10- or 20-foot cube.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.