1
\$\begingroup\$

The sarrukh possesses the supernatural ability manipulate form. The ability is one of the game's most powerful and versatile and it's essential for the overpowered kobold Pun-pun. However, the special ability says, "At will, a sarrukh can modify the form of any Scaled One native to Toril, except for aquatic and undead creatures" (Serpent Kingdoms 80–1 and emphasis mine).

Other than using the character rebuilding rules from Player's Handbook II, is there a way for a creature that's not native to Toril originally to become native to Toril later?

Official 3.5 material, nonupdated Third Edition material, and Dragon magazine material is fine, but third party material is not. Also, this question is about what works and not what's balanced. (I mean, it's a question about Pun-Pun, so I hope that was already clear!)

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ What is your interpretation of "native"? Is it an attribute of the body? An attribute of lived history? Something else? \$\endgroup\$ – Novak Jun 17 at 5:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Novak Whatever it is that manipulate form requires, as I specified in my last sentence. \$\endgroup\$ – the dark wanderer Jun 17 at 5:33
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I attempted to edit this for clarity when it was at 3 votes to hold. An hour after I did, it's up to 4 votes to hold for being unclear. Can users offer suggestions as to what could make this even clearer? (Note that there is a lack of clarity on the part of the special ability, but that's not the question's fault and, in fact, is kind of the point of the question!) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jun 17 at 16:05
6
\$\begingroup\$

Since it looks like you're going with the infinite wishes route, you could wish for reincarnations until you get a reptilian race. The spell doesn't state it, but it's just natural and reasonable to think you're reincarnating into a creature that's native to the plane you're casting the spell in, thus turning you into a valid target for the manipulate form.

With this spell, you bring back a dead creature in another body.

[...]

Since the dead creature is returning in a new body, all physical ills and afflictions are repaired. The magic of the spell creates an entirely new young adult body for the soul to inhabit from the natural elements at hand.

[...]

A reincarnated creature recalls the majority of its former life and form. It retains any class abilities, feats, or skill ranks it formerly possessed.

\$\endgroup\$
-1
\$\begingroup\$

First, it's not clear, because "native" is not well-defined. There is a subtype of "native" that applies only to outsiders, but that's not what we're talking about here. The term "native" here is just a matter of what your home plane is, and what exactly that means doesn't really get defined completely anywhere.

So... it's an ugly thing to say for a RAW question, but this looks like it's a matter for DM adjudication, because the rule on the matter simply isn't written. Still, there are some things that quite reasonably might work.

  • Wish can do anything, right? "change my native plane for all purposes" sounds like a thing. Similarly, Miracle might be able to pull it off with the right deity (a goddess of home and hearth and family, say).

  • Reincarnate will form a new body for the dead target out of native soil. That might well be enough... and then you can get a Yuan-Ti graft to qualify as a Scaled One.

  • The psionic power Mind Switch True can be used to give you the body of your choice (taken from someone else). If "native" is a matter of the body rather than the mind, that would probably suffice.

...and then there are various effects along similar but less promising lines that might work if these would work. Still, at the end, it looks like it's DM's call (or if entirely without DM, then undefined).

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ could someone explain why I'm getting downvotes for this? \$\endgroup\$ – Ben Barden Jun 18 at 21:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think it's because the "native" here is not a reference to a creature type. It simply means "From a species originated in Toril". Also, if we're discussing rules crunching DM adjudication might not be a valid answer for some, the name of the game is go RAW. \$\endgroup\$ – NameDisplay Jun 20 at 11:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @NameDisplay Huh. Well, I knew the first part. I've edited to make that more clear... and as for the second part, I don't think there is a RAW here. I've edited to make it clearer that this is regrettable. \$\endgroup\$ – Ben Barden Jun 20 at 13:14
-3
\$\begingroup\$

The simplest method by far is to obtain a Yuan-Ti graft. A Ritual of Transformation also works.


As per the sourcebook Serpent Kingdoms, p5, anyone with a Yuan-Ti graft is considered to be one of the Scaled Ones. This makes the being a valid target, even if they aren't native to Toril originally.

This is the same book that the Sarrukh themselves come from.

Obviously, the graft must be from a Toril native Yuan-Ti to work. Grafts from non-Toril native do not qualify, as the graft is not native.

This method allows any race who can accept a graft to qualify.


Spelljammer 3rd edition or Planescape 3rd edition can both get you there, if you are not a local.


Ritual of Transformation

The Rituals of Transformation found in Savage Species, Chapter 11, can also pull this off.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Can you explain why this would make the target count as a "Scaled One native to Toril," rather than a Scaled One not native to Toril? I don't see why a graft that makes you count as a Scaled One would be assumed to also make you count as a Toril native. \$\endgroup\$ – A_S00 Jun 18 at 7:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Because the graft itself is native. \$\endgroup\$ – nijineko Jun 18 at 15:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ And there is no definition in the game of what percentage of origin counts as native versus non native. Furthermore, the listed source states that a Yuan-Ti grafts makes one count as a scaled one for all purposes where the term scaled one is used in the book. \$\endgroup\$ – nijineko Jun 18 at 15:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ Therefore, you get a graft, your graft is a native, grafts explicitly count, the graft doesn't count as a separate creature, ergo you are now a valid target. \$\endgroup\$ – nijineko Jun 18 at 15:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.