In a battle sequence our Paladin (Oath of Vengeance) has successfully cast Hunter's mark, later in the battle our Wizard cast Silence.

We know that Hunter's Mark requires V (verbal) component to cast, but is it also required to "Move" the spell? Can the paladin move the "Hunter's mark" to a new target when he has been silenced?


1 Answer 1


Yes it can be moved

Moving Hunter's Mark is not casting the spell again and simply requires a bonus action:

If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to mark a new creature.

The spell only needs to be cast once (note that the spell never ends during this process), then as long as concentration is maintained, only a bonus action is needed to mark a new creature. This means that the act of moving is not casting and does not require anything else, including components, so it is not affected by silence.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .