8
\$\begingroup\$

One of my casters cast watery sphere on a couple of enemies. A second caster thought they’d combo by casting Otiluke’s resilient sphere on the sphere of water as an object to prevent the enemies from being able to escape.

Should this work under RAW?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Related: What is considered an object? \$\endgroup\$ – Sdjz Jun 17 at 14:31
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Is the idea to use the water sphere to get the resilient sphere to capture all the creatures in the water at once instead of only one of them? \$\endgroup\$ – Yora Jun 17 at 15:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jun 17 at 17:28
6
\$\begingroup\$

Probably not, but...

An "object" is a discrete (i.e. countable and not consisting of other objects), inanimate (i.e. not a creature) thing (5e SRD). Counting something made of liquid as an object would at best strain that definition, and probably wouldn't qualify, hence why I'm suggesting that RAW this is a no. (Note that if you are OK with calling a sphere made out of water an object, this could work - the sphere is Large but not Huge, so in that sense it qualifies, but it'd be a bit unclear if the creatures inside would get a saving throw against the second enclosure (although probably yes)).

However, comboing it the other way round should absolutely work - i.e., targeting one of the creatures inside the Watery Sphere with Resilient Sphere, and in that case the creature would have disadvantage on its save against being enclosed due to being restrained.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.