9
\$\begingroup\$

XGE has a spell that lets anything that breaths spew magical energy from its mouth for 10 rounds called Dragon's Breath (p. 154). Part of it reads:

Each creature in that area must make a Dexterity saving throw, taking 3d6 damage of the chosen type on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

It's been established that you can put it on your familiar, per Can a familiar from the Find Familiar spell use Dragon's Breath?

Do you use your own spell save DC or your familiar's? What would a familiar's spell save DC be? Seems like if it's a Dexterity save, it should be coming from the source of the fire.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Really this question generalizes to any creature other than yourself you might cast it on. \$\endgroup\$ – mattdm Jun 19 at 3:52
18
\$\begingroup\$

It is the spellcaster's spell save DC

The DC to resist one of your spells equals 8 + your spellcasting ability modifier + your proficiency bonus + any special modifiers. (PHB - Saving Throws)

So the person that casts the spell sets the DC (as indicated by the term "you"/"your" which the PHB uses throughout this section to refer exclusively to the caster).

And regardless of the familiar delivering the spell, the PC is the one who cast it.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.