4
\$\begingroup\$

Now looking online I found this:

If the master is 3rd level or higher, a familiar can deliver touch spells for him. If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar as the "toucher." The familiar can then deliver the touch spell just as the master could. As usual, if the master casts another spell before the touch is delivered, the touch spell dissipates.

Can someone point me to something that explains whether or not they do provoke AOO in a rulebook?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 19 at 21:52
8
\$\begingroup\$

The typical Tiny or littler familiar provokes an attack of opportunity for entering its foe's space, not for delivering the touch spell

The Player's Handbook on Touch Attacks, in part, says, "Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity" (141). If the familiar delivers the touch spell's charge "as the master could," the familiar likewise benefits from these rules.

However, keep in mind that many familiars are Tiny or littler therefore typically having reach 0 ft. and not threatening an area. Thus to deliver that touch spell's charge they must move typically into an opponent's space and doing that typically provokes an attack of opportunity (see PH 149 and here).

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.