5
\$\begingroup\$

The Yuan-ti Pureblood's Magic Resistance racial trait (VGtM, p. 120) provides:

advantage on saving throws against spells and other magical effects

I'm clear on that.

If I'm concentrating on a spell and take damage, I need to do a Constitution saving throw to see if the damage breaks my concentration.

Does the Yuan-ti racial ability allow me to do this saving throw with advantage if the damage was spell/magical?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

No

The Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration is caused by the damage - not the effect that caused the damage.

Similarly, your death saving throws wouldn’t have advantage if the damage that dropped you to 0hp came from one of these sources.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ It might be even clearer to add that the purpose of the Constitution saving throw is to maintain concentration, so it's not a saving throw "against a spell or other magical effect"; it's just a saving throw to maintain concentration. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jun 28 at 6:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.