In my adventure I want to add some winged kobolds, but I don't know how their "Dropped Rock" attack works.

Do they carry a pouch of rocks, or they need to pick up larger rocks from the ground every other round?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Good first question! (Also, I didn't notice until just now that their statblock specifies "one target directly below the kobold" in lieu of any range at all.) \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Jul 3, 2019 at 7:30
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Related question. \$\endgroup\$
    – Miniman
    Jul 3, 2019 at 7:33

1 Answer 1


It's usually assumed that a monster carries ammunition for its ranged attacks.

From the intro to the Monster Manual (p. 11), under "Ammunition":

A monster carries enough ammunition to make its ranged attacks. You can assume that a monster has 2d4 pieces of ammunition for a thrown weapon attack, and 2d10 pieces of ammunition for a projectile weapon such as a bow or crossbow.

The Dropped Rock attack of the winged kobold would be a thrown weapon attack, so it could be safely assumed that it carries 2d4 stones.

However, as DM you can always choose to rule differently.

If you decide that a winged kobold can only carry the weight of one rock in flight, you can rule that they need to land and pick up a new rock between attacks. This may make them a little easier to defeat, as landing will bring the kobolds into range of the party's melee fighters.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .