8
\$\begingroup\$

If I'm riding my animal companion for my class (UA revised ranger), can my animal companion make an attack using the following ability?

Coordinated Attack

Beginning at 5th level, you and your animal companion form a more potent fighting team. When you use the Attack action on your turn, if your companion can see you, it can use its reaction to make a melee attack.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ To be clear about what you're asking - is your concern here around the clause 'if your companion can see you'? Is it around applying the PHB rules for Mounted Combat to a Beastmaster companion? Or, is it something else? Why do you think your animal companion might not be able to attack in this situation? \$\endgroup\$ – Tiggerous Jul 3 at 7:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jul 3 at 9:20
4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

When mounted you have two options. Control the mount (if it will let you) or allow it to act independently.

If controlled, the following applies:

The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves as you direct it, and it has only three action options: Dash, Disengage, and Dodge.

This restriction applies to actions not reactions. Therefore it may take the reaction described in "Coordinated Attack " and attack:

Coordinated Attack

Beginning at 5th level, when you use the Attack action on your turn, if your companion can see you, it can use its reaction to make a melee attack against any creature within range.

If acting independently then:

A controlled mount can move and act even on the turn that you mount it. An independent mount retains its place in the initiative order. Bearing a rider puts no restrictions on the actions the mount can take, and it moves and acts as it wishes.

Since there are no restrictions, it may make the reactionary attack in this scenario also.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jul 3 at 23:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.