5
\$\begingroup\$

The description for the Storm Sorcerer's 6th-level Heart of the Storm feature says "whenever you start casting a spell of first level or higher".

The Wand of Lightning Bolts casts the Lightning Bolt spell at third level if 1 charge is expended (or at a higher level if more charges are expended). Would this trigger Heart of the Storm?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, Heart of the Storm works with wands

In addition, whenever you start casting a spell of 1st level or higher that deals lightning or thunder damage, stormy magic erupts from you.

All the feature requires is that you start casting a spell that meets the requirements. And using a wand is still casting a spell, just with the aid of an item.

Specifically the Wand of Lightning Bolts says:

While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the lightning bolt spell (save DC 15) from it.

Casting a spell is casting a spell. So it counts.

And the spell meets the other requirements as well since it deals lightning damage and is of the appropriate level.

Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level...

Since lightning bolt is a 3rd level spell, that is what it is cast as, which meets the 1st level or higher requirement.

The fact that the spell is being cast with a wand and uses a charge has no effect on the ability for it to work here.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.