5
\$\begingroup\$

The Talons card in the Deck of Many Things says:

Every magic item you wear or carry disintegrates. Artifacts in your possession aren't destroyed but do vanish.

and the Deck of Many Things is a magic item. If you draw this card, is the deck itself destroyed?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Only if you're carrying it at the time. You don't have to hold the deck in order to draw from it. You can have it sitting on a table or something.

The more interesting question is whether or not the Talons card itself is destroyed if you are not carrying the whole deck. I think that one's unclear enough for DM adjudication, though bias is to "no". The Deck specifically lists which of its cards are self-destroying, and Talons isn't on the list.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Aren't all the cards self-destroying? "Once a card is drawn, it fades from existence." \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Jul 5 at 20:07
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @Mark Wells: Finish the sentence. "Once a card is drawn, it fades from existence. Unless the card is the Fool or the Jester, the card reappears in the deck, making it possible to draw the same card twice." \$\endgroup\$ – Ben Barden Jul 5 at 20:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.