The Talons card in the Deck of Many Things says:

Every magic item you wear or carry disintegrates. Artifacts in your possession aren't destroyed but do vanish.

and the Deck of Many Things is a magic item. If you draw this card, is the deck itself destroyed?


1 Answer 1


Only if you're carrying it at the time. You don't have to hold the deck in order to draw from it. You can have it sitting on a table or something.

The more interesting question is whether or not the Talons card itself is destroyed if you are not carrying the whole deck. I think that one's unclear enough for DM adjudication, though bias is to "no". The Deck specifically lists which of its cards are self-destroying, and Talons isn't on the list.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .